Potato Soup

The comfort food in our house is either mash potatoes or potato soup.  I have been making potato soup since I can remember cooking.  I decided to see what potato soups are in my historic cookbooks.

Potato Soup

Pour two quarts water on six or seven large peeled potatoes, adding two or three slices of middling;  boil thoroughly done.  Take them out, mash the potatoes well ad return all to the same water, together with pepper, salt, one spoonful butter, and one quart milk, as for chicken soup.-Mrs. W

Potato Soup

Mash potatoes, pour on them one teacup cream, one large spoonful butter.

Pour boiling water on them till you have the desired quantity.  Boil until it thickens; season with salt, parsley, and pepper to your taste-Mrs. R.E.

Both are from: Housekeeping in Old Virginia (1897)

What I do is similar to combination of these two.  Just to let you know, Middling is salt pork but I use bacon.

I fry up the bacaon, remove most of the drippings, then add sliced leeks (not in either receipt but adds a great flavor), once the leeks are slightly cooked I add cubed potatoes then cover with water or chicken broth (the broth again is great for flavoring).  I allow the liquid to come to a boil, lower the heat and allow the potaoes to cook through.  Instead of removing the potatoes to mash them, I just mash them in the liquid.

This is what it looks like just mashed.

I add cream and if cooking for an historical event I have a wooden masher and work it to get it a more fine consistancy but at home I use a hand held emulcifier.

After using the emulsifier; you can use a blender and get the same result.

I usually get a very thick soup, but if you want to thin it use milk instead of cream or a combination of both.  I then ladle it into bowels and top it with a little cheese and bacon.  Yummy!

Still snowed in…let see what is in the freezer to cook.

Published in: on February 10, 2010 at 7:42 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thehemyngton100.wordpress.com/2010/02/10/potato-soup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

