Update on the Topsy Turvy

First week in August and finally I have a ripe tomato on the plant that is in the Topsy Turvy.  I must say that I have already have had tomatoes off of the plants that are growing in normal pots.   It is said that tomatoes when introduced to the English were thought to be poison but interesting enough to use as decoration in the garden.  I know that it did take many to warm to the tomato but as a decoration…well, it must be in the eye of the beholder.  This plant, although it looks like it is dying but isn’t, would not be what I would use for decoration right now.  I will be like the Germans & Italians and eat it right when presented to me…I am an adventurist after all!  At least when it comes to cooking.  I know there were questions as to the Topsy Turvy working or not…Here see for yourself:

Garden 008

Garden 010

Result:  The Topsy Turvy works but I need to hang it higher then I have it now because the plant gets too large and was resting on the ground.  Does it work better then normal pots?  I would say neither better or worse. If you can get it cheap and you have a high area to hang it from, it can save space and it does work when growing tomatoes.

Published in: on August 6, 2009 at 1:51 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thehemyngton100.wordpress.com/2009/08/06/update-on-the-topsy-turvy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. My Topsy Turvy has given me six tomatoes so far. Two green tomatoes were ripped off in a wind storm, but I’ll just have fried green tomatoes. I had a ripe one today in a sandwich and it was great!

    Love Always,
    Mom
    XOXOXOXO


Leave a Reply

