Research, Research, Research

I have been doing Historic cookery for more than 15 years and have acquired so many cookery books.  Books on the History of cooking, on how to cook and receipt books of many different time periods.  I had never spent time comparing similar receipts in these books.  I have to be honest, I just look for something to cook and go from there.  As I stated last week, I am cataloguing receipts.  After days of this, I decided to narrow the cataloguing when I realized if I want to cook this summer I better just pick a couple of things.  So, I narrowed the cataloging down to Vegetables, sauces, soups/stews and minced meat items.  I am surprised by some of the things I have found.  I don’t want to reveal anything  until I am finished, which might be some time.  However, things I thought were common in most receipt books are not turning out to be so prevalent.  My assumptions are being challenged and I am all for that.

I will be cooking this week.  I didn’t plan right and put myself on the schedule at Riversdale Mansion to cook this Sunday, yep Mother’s Day.  If you find yourself in Riverdale Park, MD stop in and see what we are cooking.  I even plan to try out a new pot!

Published in: on May 4, 2009 at 9:46 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thehemyngton100.wordpress.com/2009/05/04/research-research-research/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

