Julia Alive!

Last night, my mother, Liam (my son) and I went to a food related presentation.  This event is part of the “Key Ingredients” theme of lectures and presentations that the Town of Bowie, Smithsonian and other affiliates have been offering throughout Maryland for the months of November and December.

But last night was especially interesting and fun for me.  A friend of mine was presenting Julia Child.  Now I have never seen any of Mary Ann Jung’s presentations save the characters she has portrayed at the Maryland Renaissance Festival and I was looking forward to this treat.  I must say I was skeptical at first, not that Mary Ann is not talented enough to give great presentation but could she pull off Julia, one of the women of cookery I admire the most.  Mary Ann is short, of course everyone is short compared to my 5′ 10′ frame with no shoes on, but she is I would say 5′ 5″ at the most and Julia 6′ 2″.  But Mary Ann blew me away.  She didn’t need to have the height but she had the history and the energy that reminded me why Julia was great.

I have always been an admirer of Julia but not so much a fan that I knew everything about her.  Truth be told she wasn’t old enough for me to spend too much time on her cooking and life but as Mary Ann reminded us, without her we would not have the modern cooking show.  Like Julia I love to teach and demonstrate history and Cookery.  So thanks Julia for blazing the way for those of us who want to share our love and knowledge of food and a big THANK YOU to Mary Ann for such a wonderful night of Julia and as she would say…Bon Appetit!

Published in: on November 14, 2007 at 2:47 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thehemyngton100.wordpress.com/2007/11/14/julia-alive/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I had so much fun at JULIA ALIVE. Mary Ann Jung was great and so was Liam, who see pulled out of the audience to play, Paul, Julia’s husband. Liam is a natural in front of an audience. Thanks for a wonderful night.

    Love always,
    Mom (A proud grandmother)
    XOXOXOXO

  2. Now that would have been one of those events I would have loved to attend. Mary Ann as Julia Child!!! What a picture!

    Ady


Leave a Reply

