Grill’s other uses?

Well, I decided to try and cook on my grill that is doing something other then grilling meat. I just wanted to see what if frying or baking can be done, that way that if I run out of hard wood for cooking I have an alternative source to cook with other then just soft wood. Found that if I close the lid with a cast iron griddle or pan inside that it would get hot enough to do a quick fry but did not stay hot enough to continue with a lot of meat. Here’s what happened:

So, I decided to try and lightly fry thin fillets of chicken, dusted with flour mixed with salt, pepper and paprika. I fried it in butter with vegetable oil. The oil keeps the butter from burning. I did this in my well seasoned medium cast Iron skillet.

So, I heated approximately 1/4 cup of butter with oil approximately 2T. I had 2 lb. of chicken. I heated up the skillet in a closed grill then lightly fried each side of the chicken fillet (app. 30 sec. on each side or till lightly brown). Well, I found that I had to heat up the skillet twice more before all the fillets were done…not very efficient. Once all the meat was browned, I then put in about a 1/4 cup of wine to de-glaze the skillet, then threw in some sliced mushrooms and 1/4 cup chicken broth. On top of that I layered the browned chicken fillets, placed a lid on the skillet, then closed the grill lid and allowed it all to bake for 15 minutes. Turned out lovely…family ate it all up.

Conclusion: my hopes of using the grill to fry things…not a replacement for a direct fire source…but not a bad replacement for baking.

Published in: on October 17, 2007 at 9:06 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thehemyngton100.wordpress.com/2007/10/17/grills-other-uses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Isn’t blogging fun! I’m so glad your posting! You are going to have to teach me how to cook!! Right now I’m pretty good with sticking frozen food into the oven 🙂 I need to venture to the grilling/skillet world too!

    xox Tracy


Leave a Reply

